Logout|My Dashboard
  • Subscribe

TSA honors its outstanding employees Tuesday

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, December 6, 2012 12:30 am

LIHU‘E — Many award recipients honored Tuesday during a Transportation Security Administration ceremony were with the organization when it rolled out at the Lihu‘e Airport, said Monika Mali of the TSA.

“It’s been 10 years since TSA took over security at the airports, and a lot of the people who rolled out the operation are still with the firm,” Mali said. “Ten years of service is a milestone for those employees.”

Other key TSA employees being recognized include the Employee of the Year, Denisse Ogata, PA, and Officer of the Year, Iwa Aki, TSO, both of whom could not be in attendance when TSA presented its Eighth Annual TSA Awards at the Kaua‘i Marriott Resort and Beach Club.

The presentations were handled by Robert Hansmeier, the Acting U.S. Federal Security Director.

Maria Bramel, TSO, was the recipient of the Team Spirit Officer of the Year; Cricket Pigao, LTSO, was announced as the Integrity Officer of the Year; and Roselani Wise, STSO, received the Innovation Officer of the Year award in the TSO Recognition category.

National TSA Honorary Awards Nominees include Dennis Erskine, MCCO for Outstanding Performance in Administrative and Technical Support, Carrie Santiago, MCCO, and Rodney Sanchez, MBDO for Unsung Hero the Lihu‘e Coordination Center for Team, Alvin Sasil, STSO, a 10-year veteran, and Roxanne Fujieki, STSO for Core Values, and Betty-Jane Uegawa, AFSD-S, for Leadership Award.

The Pacific Missile Range Facility, represented by Ensign Billy Newell, Installation Security Officer, and the Federal Bureau of Investigations, Honolulu Field Office, represented by Special Agent Pete Hoffman, were recipients of the Partnership Awards.

William Winters, TSO, Daniel Rapozo, TSO, Alvin Sasil, STSO, Carole Shigekane, HR, Lyle Stemo, TSO and Keith Kunioka, TSO were recipients of the 10 Years of TSA Service awards.

Kimberly Cayetano, TSO, Tyler Mullenix, MBDO, and Dennis Erskine, MCCO were recipients of the 5 Years of TSA Service awards.

Ronda Fernandez, TSO, Leslie Matsukawa, TSO, Lourdes Obiano, TSO, Russell Furusho, STSO, Crystal Roberts, STSO, Craig Sadamitsu, TSO, Monkia Mali, PA, Shana Oyama, TSO, Lene Tucker, TSO, Herberlyn Faima, TSO, Jonah Farias, TSO, Melvine Manuel, TSO, Rochelle Olivas, MBDO, Kelley Garcia, TSO, La Vonne Pironti, TSM, Kim Ryan-Fernandez, SPOT-TSM, Gerald Nakamura, TSO, Kevin Tennberg, STSO, Chad Visitacion, LTSO, Shirley Machado, MCCO, and Brian Howie, TSO, were presented 5 Years of TSA and Federal Government Service.

Mali said these awards mean the employees could have come from a different branch of the federal government, including the military, to TSA.

Duana DeBlake, ESTI, Roxanne Fujieki, STSO, Bruce Kaiwi, LTSO, Tisha Rapozo-Soares, SOO, Betty-Jane Uegawa, AFSD-S, Alvin Yadao, TSO, Sheldon Espina, TSO, Misty Kaimina‘auao, TSM, Travis Medina, ESTI, Orlando Pacheco, TSO, Ronald Carvalho, TSO, Marilyn Reposar, TSO, Reggie Calapatia, TSM, Pualeilani Medeiros, TSM, Joel Miyashiro, TSO, Norvin Olivas, MBDO, Randall Palmeira, TSO were recipients of the 10 Years of TSA and Federal Government Service.

Christian Ogawa, LTSO and Eugene Costa, TSO were awarded the 10 Years of Federal Government Service awards.

Doris Williams, LTSO, and Duane Samiano, TSS-E were recipients of 15 Years of Federal Government Service.

Special Recognition Awards for Practical Skills Evaluations were presented to Lance Nobriga, STSO and Crystal Roberts, STSO.

Certificates of Appreciation were awarded to Sheldon Espina, TSO and Darrin Carillo, TSO.

The Transportation Security Administration protects the nation’s transportation systems to ensure freedom of movement for people and commerce.

TSA will continuously set the standard for excellence in transportation security through its people, processes and technology.

© 2015 Thegardenisland.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

1 comment:

  • Dbrother posted at 12:23 pm on Fri, Dec 7, 2012.

    Dbrother Posts: 0

    It's thrilling to receive an award; to be told you've performed well, and to be recognized for high achievement. However, TSA employees, please don't forget what is everlasting, your spirit, which will experience joy or suffering long after the awards have rusted or rotted.There's a higher power that in its own good time repays us for what we have done. Please consider where your souls stand with a righteous power when you impose sexually depraved security procedures on innocent travelers; as you go to work each day willing to coerce people into pornographic scanners or force unwanted sexual contact on them. Those who enable TSA abuse, such as airport police are in just as much spiritual peril. TSA workers, leaders, and enablers, I want you to know your souls are precious, but those who impose these procedures are separating themselves from God.BrotherD@christfortsa.com


Online poll

What's the biggest issue facing Kauai right now?

1. 2. 3. s 4. 5. 6.

Total Votes: 10


Most Popular

Follow us on Facebook